Thank You Friday

The following thought for today from His Holiness the Dalai Lama encourages me to deem this Thank You Friday.

“Our good fortune is dependent upon the cooperation and contributions of others. Every aspect of our present well-being is due to hard work on the part of others. As we look around us at the buildings we live and work in, the roads we travel, the clothes we wear, or the food we eat, we have to acknowledge that all are provided by others. None of them would exist for us to enjoy and make use of were it not for the kindness of so many people unknown to us.”

His Holiness the Dalai Lama

June 1, 2012

Wouldn’t it be nice to take a moment today to thank those who made the effort to improve your week? If, like me, you can’t personally thank  all those behind the scenes, it’s even more important to thank the people you can.

I’ll go first:

Thank you, Peter. You will be at the top of this list every week. Thank you for a lovely anniversary celebration, for your eagle eye proof reading and for writing another agreement. You set a high bar.

Thank you, Darryl, for such a kind note. The Barrett sisters married well.

Thank you, Kathy, for being a role model to remind me that it’s possible to be both a great person and a great businesswoman.

Thank you, Courtney and Stephanie, for making the time to meet.  These moments of  personal interaction are important because they allow me to escape  the parade of audio and video calls from my home office. The interesting conversation is a special bonus.

Thank you, David, for reaching out after such a long time. It will be a pleasure to reconnect with your wisdom and perspective again.

Thank you to Drs. Johnson and Carney, for investing time and interest in my well-being, even on routine visits.

Thank you to everyone who reads my blog. A special shout out  to David, Colleen and Mimi for your reactions and to Keeley for sharing her special social media touch. You encourage me to keep going when it’s especially needed.

Now it’s your turn. 

8 thoughts on “Thank You Friday

  1. Sometimes blogging can feel lonely. It feels like no one is listening. Learning how to use social media effectively is a trial and error activity. Thanks for being along with me on this journey.

  2. I think the thank you needs to be directed right back to you – at least from me. You are an amazingly talented writer and a wonderfully supportive of those of us who try to connect with some of our own posts. As much as I appreciate your gratitude, you make this cyber-friendship one for which I have even greater appreciation. Have a terrific weekend!

  3. More than once I’ve wondered “Hello? Hello? Anyone out there?” But there are wonderful people out there. Seth Godin has it right when he says he blogs for myself- to synthesize his thoughts and express his interests. That idea, plus the fact that the smartest guy I know about social media usage reminds me not to underestimate the value of lurkers. Isn’t that right, Jeff?

Leave a Reply

